Direct to content
Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Finland

Visa - Embassy of Finland, Canberra : Services : Visa


Embassy of Finland, Canberra
Tel. +61-2-6273 3800
E-mail: and
English | Suomi | Svenska | Facebook |  |  | Instagram


Who needs a visa for Finland?

Australian and New Zealand citizens do not need a visa for Finland provided that their stay does not exceed 90 days during any 180-day period.

If you are not an Australian or a New Zealand passport holder, please check here whether you need a visa:

⇒Visa requirement in the Schengen area and travel documents accepted by Finland

Schengen visa

Schengen member states

Schengen member states are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

A Schengen visa is a visa issued under the terms of the Schengen Agreement. A Schengen visa issued by any country under the Schengen rules will be valid for travel in all the Schengen countries i.e. one visa alone will enable the bearer to travel in all the 26 Schengen countries - 23 EU and 3 non EU countries. A Schengen visa enables a person to visit one or several of the Schengen countries for business, tourism, visiting friends/relatives etc for a maximum of 90 days every 180 days.

Honorary Consulates are not allowed to issue Schengen visas.

If the intended stay in Finland and within the Schengen area exceeds 90 days within a period of 180 days, a residence permit is required. Residence permits are still governed by the national law of each individual Schengen country. A holder of a residence permit to any of the Schengen countries may travel up to 90 days to the other Schengen countries without having to obtain a Schengen visa.

A Schengen Visa is applied for in person at the embassy or consulate of the country of the main destination. To learn how to book an appointment read below. The main destination is the country where the main purpose of the intended journey is carried out or where the applicant intends to spend the longest time. If there is no main destination, it should be applied for at the Embassy/Consulate of the first country that one enters unless it is just a transit country. Applications can be submitted 3 months prior to the intended date of arrival in the Schengen region at the earliest.

Australian and New Zealand passport holders do not need a visa for stays up to 90 days in Finland and the Schengen area for tourism and business purposes.

Applying for a Schengen Visa at the Embassy of Finland in Canberra the following documents are required to support the visa application:

  • A fully completed visa application form. 

  • A valid passport

  • A recent passport photo.

  • Proof of residence.

  • Proof of visa status - VEVO (Visa Entitlement Verification Online). Confirmation of the valid Australian visa sent electronically directly from the Australian Government vevo website to the embassy's e-mail

  • Reservation of return or round ticket, including confirmation of the booking of an organised trip including a detailed itinerary. In the case of transit: visa or other entry permit for the third country of destination; tickets for onward journey.

  • Valid travel insurance for the whole period of travel in the Schengen area. The insurance indemnity should be at least EUR 30,000 and should insure the person in case of sudden illness or accident (including travel home) and include transportation home in the event of death.

  • Proof of financial means in the country of residence (including recent bank statements showing movement of means over a certain period (minimum last three months).

  • Proof of sponsorship and/or private accommodation (such as invitation from host). Some Member States may require that proof of sponsorship and/or private accommodation is provided by means of a specific form.

  • If married or in a partnership, provide a marriage certificate or a registered partnership agreement.

Documents to be submitted by applicants depending on the purpose of travel:

  • Tourism or visiting family/friends
    • A document from the establishment providing the accommodation or any other appropriate document indicating the accommodation envisaged.
  • Business, conference, cultural, religious or political event
    • Official invitation letter from a firm, host, organisation, educational establishment or an authority to attend meetings, conferences or events, containing detailed information concerning:
      • Address and contacts of the inviting entity.
      • Name and position of the countersigning person.
      • Purpose and duration of the stay.
      • Person or entity who will bear the travel and living costs (if applicable).
    • Documents proving the applicant's employment status in the company (for example, contract, proof of social security contribution).
  • Medical treatment
    • A certificate from a medical doctor and/or a medical institution advising that the treatment is necessary.
    • An official document from the receiving medical institution confirming that it can perform the specific medical treatment, an estimation of costs and an indication that the patient will be accepted accordingly.
    • Proof of prepayment or sufficient financial means to pay for the medical treatment and related expenses.

All Schengen Visa applicants are to attend an interview at the Embassy of Finland to finalise their application.

Book an appointment with Embassy Of Finland, Canberra using SetMore

The Schengen Visa fee is payable in Australian dollars to the Embassy when the application is submitted. The Embassy only accepts credit or debit card payments (cash, Diners Club and Amex cards are not acceptable).The fee is NON-REFUNDABLE, if the visa application is withdrawn or the visa is refused. The service fees are subject to change on a monthly basis in accordance with the Ministry's official exchange rate, so the applicants are asked to check the current service fees from the Embassy's website.

The visa application processing time is 15 calendar days. The period may be extended up to a maximum of 30 calendar days in individual cases or exceptionally up to a maximum of 60 calendar days in specific cases.

In New Zealand the application should be submitted at the Embassy of the Netherlands in Wellington. In Fiji, Tuvalu, Kiribati, Nauru and the Solomon Islands the application should be submitted at the Embassy of Finland in Canberra. In Papua New Guinea the application should be submitted at the Embassy of Finland in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

OBS! A Schengen Visa is issued free of charge to spouses and dependants of EU-citizens. The spouse's passport and a marriage certificate/children's full birth certificates and parent's passports should be presented. All documents should be original.

Print this page

This document

Also in this site

Other Foreign Service websites

Related websites

Updated 8/13/2018

© Embassy of Finland, Canberra  | About this site | Contact information